Millville Cemetery

From Henderson, take Hwy 259 north less than one mile. turn right (east) onto CR 782. Go about 6 miles to CR 251. Turn left (north). Go less than 1 mile.

Coordinates:
3215.525
-9443.754

Marker Text
In the 1840s, Jesse Walling, veteran of the Battle of San Jacinto, set aside four acres for a church, school, Masonic lodge and cemetery for Liberty Hill community, later renamed Millville. Of nearly 400 graves, many unmarked, Ann Rushing's (d. 1851) is the earliest marked. Her grave and five others are denoted by carved fieldstone covers, which, along with other early stone features, give the burial ground a unique appearance. Descendants of those buried here formed an association, which holds the annual Millville picnic, a tradition dating to at least 1885. Historic Texas Cemetery - 2004